The Vitalis Scholarship is awarded annually to staff in healthcare and welfare who are using digital technology in new ways to develop innovative solutions that are easily accessible by users. This may involve a product, project, method or working approach. The scholarship is awarded at Vitalis Opening Ceremony, Tuesday May 14.

The scholarship has been established by Vitalis together with Tietoevry Care.

Apply to Vitalis Scholarship


We are keen to see innovations that offer demonstrable benefits for care users and patients, staff, organisations and/or social finances. It will be seen as an advantage if the innovation has already been implemented or a decision has been taken to implement it.

The scholarship sum is SEK 60,000 and it may be distributed as one or two grant(s) by the local authority and/or county council / region. The scholarship may also be awarded to private healthcare providers operating on behalf of a municipality or county council / region. In addition, the winner will get the chance to carry out a so called Discovery together with Tietoevry, in order to develop the innovation further. Value 90 000 SEK.

The scholarship is open to applications from Sweden, Norway and Denmark.

Scholarship jury

A scholarship jury will select the winner(s) of the scholarship. The jury will be made up of individuals with direct or indirect expertise in the healthcare and welfare sector.

Anyone in the healthcare and welfare sector can nominate candidates for the grant. Candidates must however be informed that they have been nominated. The decision of the jury is final.

Criteria for jury assessment:
– effects of the innovative activity
– how the innovation is implemented within the organisation
– opportunities for national application of the results
– inclusion with the application of a description of how the innovation benefits the individual (care user, user, patient, relative), staff in the municipality, county council or region, and/or the finances of the healthcare provider.

The jury consists of:
Hanna Svensson, e-patient
Johanna Ulfvarson, Senior adviser, International Coordinator, E-health Agency
Patrik Sundström, CEO, Inera
Nasim Bergman Farrokhnia, chairman of the eHealth Medical Association
Carina Wiman, Head of Business Enablement, Tietoevry Care

General information

Three finalists will be informed during spring 2024 and will be given the opportunity to record a presentation of about 10 minutes that describes the project/service/innovation. This presentation will be published in Vitalis channels where the audience can vote for their favourite.

The scholarship is awarded at Vitalis Opening Ceremony, Tuesday May 14.

The finalists themselves pay for any hotel and travel to Vitalis but receive a conference card valid for all days.

Personal information that is submitted with applications will only be used by the Swedish Exhibition & Congress Centre to administer applications.

Important dates

March 15 – application deadline
April 19 – finalist films finished production
May 14 – award ceremony

Questions are answered by

Carina Wiman, Lead Business Developer, Tietoevry Care

Maria Sterner, Exhibition Manager, The Swedish Exhibition & Congress Centre

Apply to the Vitalis Scholarship before March 15

Apply to Vitalis Scholarship